Lessons in Narnia: A Mysterious Horror

3/19/2010: A Mysterious Horror

S: 3:16pm

E: 3:55pm

Today, I went to the OneThing event in Pasadena and one of the things I’ve learned in the morning session is that God can satisfy our need for pleasure much better than anything else, that the pleasures this world can give is secondary compared to the pleasures of God.

After the session, I brought the “Intimacy With God” collection which included “7 Longings of the Human Heart” by Mike Bickle. While reading the conclusion and then the introduction of the book (I tend to start reading books from the end.. don’t know why :) ), the author tells the reader that each human being has seven basic longings: The longing to be enjoyed by God, longing for fascination, for beauty, greatness, longing for intimacy without shame, longing to be wholehearted, and the longing to make a deep and lasting impact. I agree that I have a longing for each of these.

I thought about my military friends and how they are trying to satisfy their longings the wrong way and how much they can enjoy life if they satisfy their longings in God. God created these longings and wants us to fulfill it in Him. However, when I visualized telling my friends about this amazing discovery, I realized that my friends hate hearing the word “God,” which brings me to write this lesson about Narnia.

In the world of Narnia, the word “Aslan” is not a completely welcomed name. While some cheered and rejoiced that Aslan (the great Lion who created their world) is coming, others grew to hate and shun it. Edmund and Eustace, for example, when they first heard the word Aslan, grew afraid although they didn’t quite know why. To them, Aslan provokes a sense of dread or “a mysterious horror”. I find from reading Narnia that those who love Aslan the most tend to be good-hearted (like Lucy) and those who hate him without ever seeing him tend to be evil.

In this world, people don’t fear Aslan; they fear God. As with the name of Aslan, some people are afraid of hearing the word God. To them, it inspires a sense of hatred, dread, or, likewise, a mysterious horror. And, also likewise, I find that people who love God the most without ever seeing Him tend to be good-hearted while the opposite is true for those who fear (not holy fear but fear as in dread) his Name.

Leave a Reply

